Food for thought

Text and video by Mike Parker

On Wednesday evening, about 100 residents from the south end of Saint John met to discuss establishing a community-run grocery store in their neighborhood.

The area is one of the poorest neighborhoods in Saint John and residents have been without a local grocery store for several years. Instead they frequently buy groceries from several convenience stores in the area or pay for a taxi to the nearest large grocery chain several kilometers away.

The project is being led by the South End Area Community Action Team (SEA-CAT), a community group made up of residents from the area. They hope that a community store will give residents ready access to healthy food, cut down on monthly expenses and foster a sense of community within the neighborhood.

You can watch a quick video from the meeting below. The group has a Facebook page- I want a grocery store in the South End – for more information.

4 responses to “Food for thought

  1. The turnout was definately encouraging.

  2. I support this 100 %

  3. Thank you for the info. I support the idea of a grocery store in the South End.

    I enjoy your blog, and I check it regularly, so I would like to leave a little constructive criticism if I may.

    Mike: You really need to brush up on your narrative delivery. Loosen up a bit. It sounds like you are reading at a grade three level. A tad less stilted and a little more flow… Cadence…

  4. Michael Parker

    Thanks Rick! I appreciate the feedback and tend to agree wth you.

Leave a comment